Nagaland, Meghalaya and Tripura elections: What’s at stake in three northeastern states read full article at

Tripura is ruled by the BJP and the party is part of the ruling coalition in Nagaland and Meghalaya. Here’s all you need to know about the three upcoming elections.

CMs of Nagaland, Tripura and Meghalaya

Left: Nagaland CM Neiphiu Guolhoulie Rio, Centre: Tripura CM Dr Manik Saha and Right: Meghalaya CM Conrad Kongkal Sangma

By India Today Web Desk: The Election Commission of India (ECI) will announce the schedule for Nagaland, Meghalaya and Tripura assembly elections at 2.30 pm on Wednesday (January 18). The term of the three assemblies ends on different dates in March.

These three northeastern states will kickstart India’s busy election season in 2023 and will be followed by assembly polls in Karnataka, Mizoram, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, and Telangana. Elections could also be held in the Union Territory of Jammu & Kashmir. Together, they will set the tone for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections when India will vote to elect its new government.

Tripura is ruled by the BJP and the party is part of the ruling coalition in Nagaland and Meghalaya. Here’s all you need to know about the three upcoming elections.

Also Read: EC to announce assembly election schedule for Nagaland, Meghalaya, Tripura today


In the 2018 elections, the BJP won 33 seats, the Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) 4, the CPM 15, and the Congress one. Six seats are vacant.

In its 2018 victory, the BJP ended the long Left rule and Biplab Deb became the Chief Minister. But the party had to remove him in May 2022 over performance issues and made Dr Manik Saha the new CM. Saha also faces the challenge of ironing out the differences growing within the state unit.

Besides, the BJP’s relationship with its key ally — tribal outfit Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura (IPFT) – is on the rocks. Union home minister Amit Shah recently visited the state to sort these issues out and flagged off Jana Vishwas Yatra to mobilise support for the party.

On the other hand, the Left and the Congress have come together in Tripura, like they did, unsuccessfully, in West Bengal in 2021, to defeat the BJP.

Meanwhile, former Congresswoman Sushmita Dev is TMC’s go-to person in Tripura. The party has been trying to increase its presence in the state. TMC chief and West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee has visited Tripura and will do so again as the campaign picks up.

Also Read: EC reaches Tripura to ensure free and fair election in state, 28.13 lakh voters this time

Also, Pradyut Manikya, earlier with the Congress, has founded Tipra Motha, relying on influence in tribal seats. It will back whoever backs its call for a separate Tipraland. BJP’s Hangsha Kumar Tripura has also joined the Tipra Motha with his tribal supporters. Earlier in September, BJP MLA Burba Mohan Tripura had also joined Tipra.


Conrad Sangma of the National People’s Party (NPP) is the Chief Minister. The NPP has 20 seats, the United Democratic Party (UDP) 8, the People’s Democratic Front (PDF) 2, the BJP 2 and 2 are Independents. The Opposition TMC has 9 seats. Who came from the Congress along with Mukul Sangama Fourteen seats are vacant.

The Congress emerged as the largest party in the Meghalaya assembly election in 2018, but its tally of 21 seats fell short of the halfway mark in the 60-member legislature.

The BJP supported the NPP to form the government in the state. Conrad Sangma became the chief minister. Recently, fissures surfaced between the NPP and the BJP. In a spur-of-the-moment reaction, Sangma had said his party would go it alone on all the seats in 2023. Recently, two MLAs resigned from the NPP and joined the saffron party.

The BJP in 2018 had won only two seats. The party aims to lead the coalition government this time. The coalition partners are trying to mend fences among themselves. Himanta Biswa Sarma, who jumped ship from the grand old party to BJP in 2015 and is now North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) convenor, can play a crucial role in improving the ties between the allies.

A lot of Central assistance is already going to the state. And more will flow ahead of the elections.

Also Read: 2 more Trinamool MLAs in Meghalaya join ruling NPP

The Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) of NPP and BJP will face a tough fight from the Trinamool Congress (TMC). The Congress is also pulling up its socks.

The NPP has declared candidates for 58 seats. Two MLAs have joined the ruling NPP after quitting both the party and the assembly.

NAGALAND (60 seats)

The Ruling coalition United Democratic Alliance (UDA) has the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), the BJP and Naga People’s Front (NPF). Neiphiu Rio of the NDPP is the Chief Minister.

The NDPP-BJP alliance, formed ahead of the 2018 polls, is going strong in Nagaland. There is no opposition in Nagaland. 21 NPF MLAs joined the UDA. In 2018, the NPF got 26 seats, the NDPP 18, the BJP 12, the NPP 2, the JDU 1 and 1 is Independent.

This time, the BJP plans to fight in 20 seats and support NDPP candidates in 40 others in the 2023 elections. The BJP feels the partial lifting of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act (AFSPA) may work in their favour. In 2018, it won 12 seats.

However, the Nagaland BJP recently received a blow when three district presidents of the party jumped ship and joined hands with the Janata Dal (United).

Seven tribes have vociferously been demanding a separate state ‘Frontier Nagaland’ by carving out 16 districts of the state. The central government recently held meetings with the Eastern Nagaland People’s Organisation (ENPO) to strike a way out.

#indianews #indiannews

About Lionel Messi

Check Also

Congress slowed India’s progress, country lost 6 decades: PM Modi’s broadside at grand old party amid opposition sloganeering in Rajya Sabha | India News read full article at

NEW DELHI: PM Modi on Thursday launched a recent offensive towards the Congress, this time …

Kim Jong Un Shows off daughter, nuclear missiles at North Korean parade read full article at

North Korean chief Kim Jong Un and his younger …

PM Modi to Launch Two More Trains from Mumbai, Maharashtra’s Count Touches 4 read full article at

Edited By: Oindrila Mukherjee Final Up to date: February 09, 2023, 19:35 IST One Vande …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *